ForthcomingNew Releases

Staff Picks

.Goldfinch sue monk kidd

Congratulations to Alice Munro

Click on the image for the story on Alice Munro winning the Nobel Prize for Literature...

Click on the image for the story on Alice Munro winning the Nobel Prize for Literature...

The Luminaries – 2014 Man-Booker Prize

luminaries “Sometimes – rarely – a novel arrives that is so good all you can do is shake your head in wonder. Brilliant in design, masterful in execution, and intensely pleasurable to inhabit, The Luminaries is a masterpiece, the work of a writer of apparently limitless range and talent.” —Peter Hobbs, author of In the Orchard, the Swallows

Prizes

all my puny
Blue Heron books pic The unpretentious atmosphere of Blue Heron Books with its comfy chairs, wood shelving and creaky floors lends itself to a long slow, browsing session, but under that sleepy atmosphere vibrates a strong pulse. The store has a quaint, old-fashioned look with an up tempo vibe, because there is always something happening. The store is a hub for the community and a bastion of calm chaos where everyone is welcome, even the local dogs that drop by with their owners for a treat from the tin kept under the front counter. 62 Brock St. W., Uxbridge, Ontario. 905-852-4282

CBA LIBRIS BOOKSELLER OF THE YEAR - 2012 and 2014 Click here for more information...

Series of Fortunate (literary) Events 2014 Passport Click here for more information...

Tea with Philippa Gregory on September 21stClick here for more information.

Ann-Marie Macdonald Event --Nov. 8thh Click here for more information.

When you walk into Blue Heron Books, you can actually feel the passion, the knowledge, and the love for the written word that reside there. Just as tangible, is that tinge of regret that comes when it’s time to go. — Terry Fallis

Historical Fiction

Historical Fiction Lovers take note…..

“Housekeeper or housewife?” the soldier asks Silvana as she and eight- year-old Aurek board the ship that will take them from Poland to England at the end of World War II. There her husband, Janusz, is already waiting for them at the little house at 22 Britannia Road. But the war has changed them all so utterly that they’ll barely recognize one another when they are reunited. “Survivor,” she answers.

Silvana and Aurek spent the war hiding in the forests of Poland. Wild, almost feral Aurek doesn’t know how to tie his own shoes or sleep in a bed. Janusz is an Englishman now-determined to forget Poland, forget his own ghosts from the way, and begin a new life as a proper English family. But for Silvana, who cannot escape the painful memory of a shattering wartime act, forgetting is not a possibility.

“Fans of novels like The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society and Sarah’s Key, who can never have too much of a good war story, will warm to this fine debut. Recommended.”
-Library Journal

October Book Club

house in the sky

Book Club Favourite…

sense of an ending

Store Hours

  • Mon 10 - 6
  • Tues 10 - 6
  • Wed 10 - 6
  • Thurs 10 - 7
  • Fri 10 - 7
  • Sat 10 - 5
  • Sun 11-4

Books and Authors Night

Sept 25th This just in... Amanda Lindhout, author of A House in the Sky will be joining Miriam Toews, author of A Complicated Kindness, Kim Thuy, author of Ru and Elyse Friedman, author of The Answer to Everything on September 25th for Books and Authors Night in the Uxbridge Music Hall. Tickets on Sale now.
Using keyword, author name, workshop instructor, course title, book event etc. type into the search bar and hit enter.

Upcoming Events…

November 17th, Blue Heron Studio in conjunction with the Passionate Cook-- Chef Jamie Kennedyi, SOLD OUT   November 17th, 7pm Wooden Sticks Golf Club --  An evening with Meg Tilly, Meg Wolitzer and Lev Grossman - $25 (includes a glass of wine and nibblies)   November 22 Santa Claus Parade (note the date change!), In store story time and treats.   December 6th, In Store Book Signing with Destiny's Gate author Lee Bice Matheson1pm   December 7th, In Store Book Signing with The Stain author Charlene Jones1pm

Ted Barris on TV

great escapePeter Mansbridge goes One on One with Ted Barris. Check out the interview here.
handmade in uxbridge2013