ForthcomingNew Releases

Staff Picks

fates happy

Congratulations to Alice Munro

Click on the image for the story on Alice Munro winning the Nobel Prize for Literature...

Click on the image for the story on Alice Munro winning the Nobel Prize for Literature...

2015 Scotiabank Giller Prize

fifteen dogs

Bookseller Shelley Macbeth of Blue Heron Books (Uxbridge, ON), recommended Andre Alexis 's Fifteen Dogs on 49th Shelf , and gushed that the novel was her pick for a Giller nomination this year!

An utterly convincing and moving look at the beauty and perils of consciousness.

- I wonder, said Hermes, what it would be like if animals had human intelligence.

- I'll wager a year's servitude, answered Apollo, that animals - any animal you like - would be even more unhappy than humans are, if they were given human intelligence.

And so it begins: a bet between the gods Hermes and Apollo leads them to grant human consciousness and language to a group of dogs overnighting at a Toronto vet­erinary clinic. Suddenly capable of more complex thought, the pack is torn between those who resist the new ways of thinking, preferring the old 'dog' ways, and those who embrace the change.

Blue Heron books pic The unpretentious atmosphere of Blue Heron Books with its comfy chairs, wood shelving and creaky floors lends itself to a long slow, browsing session, but under that sleepy atmosphere vibrates a strong pulse. The store has a quaint, old-fashioned look with an up tempo vibe, because there is always something happening. The store is a hub for the community and a bastion of calm chaos where everyone is welcome, even the local dogs that drop by with their owners for a treat from the tin kept under the front counter. 62 Brock St. W., Uxbridge, Ontario. 905-852-4282

CBA LIBRIS BOOKSELLER OF THE YEAR - 2012 and 2014 Click here for more information...

Series of Fortunate (literary) Events 2015 Passport Click here for more information...

Day out with Thomas the Tank Engine Click here for more information.

Inspiration Station - Art Club for Kids Click here for more information.

Historical Fiction

Historical Fiction Lovers take note…..

“Housekeeper or housewife?” the soldier asks Silvana as she and eight- year-old Aurek board the ship that will take them from Poland to England at the end of World War II. There her husband, Janusz, is already waiting for them at the little house at 22 Britannia Road. But the war has changed them all so utterly that they’ll barely recognize one another when they are reunited. “Survivor,” she answers.

Silvana and Aurek spent the war hiding in the forests of Poland. Wild, almost feral Aurek doesn’t know how to tie his own shoes or sleep in a bed. Janusz is an Englishman now-determined to forget Poland, forget his own ghosts from the way, and begin a new life as a proper English family. But for Silvana, who cannot escape the painful memory of a shattering wartime act, forgetting is not a possibility.

“Fans of novels like The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society and Sarah’s Key, who can never have too much of a good war story, will warm to this fine debut. Recommended.”
-Library Journal

Christmas Hours

Starting December 10

Mon - Wed 10 - 7
Thu/Fri - 10 - 9
Sat - 10 - 7
Sun - 10 - 5

For the final stretch...
Dec 21 9 - 9
Dec 22 9 - 9
Dec 23 9 - 7
Dec 24 9 - until the last shopper shops...

Using keyword, author name, workshop instructor, course title, book event etc. type into the search bar and hit enter.

Upcoming Events…

Thurs. Nov. 19th, 7pm, Wooden Sticks Golf Club, Across Canada by Story with Douglas Gibson and Terry Fallis

Sat. Nov. 14th, 10 - 5pm, Blue Heron Studio, Home Show and Sale Home Decor, Infinity Scarves, Elemi Organics and much more

Thurs. Nov. 26th, 7pm, Wooden Sticks Golf Club, An Evening with Kate Morton

Dec. 10th - 22nd, 10 - 5pm, Blue Heron Studio Handmade in Uxbridge Show and Sale

Ted Barris on TV

great escapePeter Mansbridge goes One on One with Ted Barris. Check out the interview here.

Book Club Favourite…