ForthcomingNew Releases

Staff Picks

fifteen dogsenchanted

Congratulations to Alice Munro

Click on the image for the story on Alice Munro winning the Nobel Prize for Literature...

Click on the image for the story on Alice Munro winning the Nobel Prize for Literature...

2014 Scotiabank Giller Prize

us conductors

“DZEEEEOOOoo! Just as hard as it is to make a theremin sing so it is hard to pull off a novel like this. But Sean Michaels does it. Us Conductors bridges body and soul, science and art, and like theremin music, it’s of this world and magical at the same time.”
—Ismet Prcic, author of Shards

Blue Heron books pic The unpretentious atmosphere of Blue Heron Books with its comfy chairs, wood shelving and creaky floors lends itself to a long slow, browsing session, but under that sleepy atmosphere vibrates a strong pulse. The store has a quaint, old-fashioned look with an up tempo vibe, because there is always something happening. The store is a hub for the community and a bastion of calm chaos where everyone is welcome, even the local dogs that drop by with their owners for a treat from the tin kept under the front counter. 62 Brock St. W., Uxbridge, Ontario. 905-852-4282

CBA LIBRIS BOOKSELLER OF THE YEAR - 2012 and 2014 Click here for more information...

Series of Fortunate (literary) Events 2015 Passport Click here for more information...

Day out with Thomas the Tank Engine Click here for more information.

Inspiration Station - Art Club for Kids Click here for more information.

Historical Fiction

Historical Fiction Lovers take note…..

“Housekeeper or housewife?” the soldier asks Silvana as she and eight- year-old Aurek board the ship that will take them from Poland to England at the end of World War II. There her husband, Janusz, is already waiting for them at the little house at 22 Britannia Road. But the war has changed them all so utterly that they’ll barely recognize one another when they are reunited. “Survivor,” she answers.

Silvana and Aurek spent the war hiding in the forests of Poland. Wild, almost feral Aurek doesn’t know how to tie his own shoes or sleep in a bed. Janusz is an Englishman now-determined to forget Poland, forget his own ghosts from the way, and begin a new life as a proper English family. But for Silvana, who cannot escape the painful memory of a shattering wartime act, forgetting is not a possibility.

“Fans of novels like The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society and Sarah’s Key, who can never have too much of a good war story, will warm to this fine debut. Recommended.”
-Library Journal

Store Hours

  • Mon 10 - 6
  • Tues 10 - 6
  • Wed 10 - 6
  • Thurs 10 - 7
  • Fri 10 - 7
  • Sat 10 - 5
  • Sun 11-4
Using keyword, author name, workshop instructor, course title, book event etc. type into the search bar and hit enter.

Upcoming Events…

Thurs. Sept. 24th, 7:30pm Uxbridge Music Hall Books and Authors Night with Paula McLain, Elizabeth Hay & Andre Alexis

Sun. Oct. 4th, 11am Wooden Sticks Golf Club Books and Brunch with Lawrence Hill

Mon. Oct. 19th,, 7pm, Wooden Sticks Golf Club, Books with Wine and Cheese and Shilpi Somaya Gowda

Tues. Oct 20th, 7pm, Wooden Sticks Golf Club, Books with Wine and Cheese and Patrick deWitt

Thurs. Nov. 19th, 7pm, Wooden Sticks Golf Club, Across Canada by Story with Douglas Gibson and Terry Fallis

Ted Barris on TV

great escapePeter Mansbridge goes One on One with Ted Barris. Check out the interview here.

September Book Club


Book Club Favourite…

the enchanted